Florida Department of Health in Calhoun County
19611 SR 20 W
Blountstown, FL 32424
The Biomedical Waste Inspection Program is designed to protect the public from risks associated with potentially infectious biomedical waste. This is conducted by regulating the generation, transport, storage and treatment of biomedical waste through processes other than incineration. The Department of Environmental Protection has primary responsibility for biomedical waste incineration and final disposal.
The governing authority for this program is Florida Statute 381.0098 and Florida Administrative Code 64E-16 (60.3kb;pdf)
The facilities below are inspected in Calhoun Counties.
•Storage and treatment facilities
•Transporters of biomedical waste
Operators who generate more than 25 pounds of biomedical waste in a 30 day period are required to purchase an annual operating permit. Biomedical Waste Permit Application(117kb;pdf)
Other Permit Applications:
Biomedical Waste Transporter Application(35.2;pdf)
Biomedical Waste Storage Application(47.9kb;pdf)
Inspections every three years:
Facilities that produce less than 25 pounds in a 30 day period (and can document this for a minimum of one year) can apply for an exemption from permitting and fee requirements.
The Inspection process entails, but is not limited to:
•Handling of waste
•Labeling of waste
•Location of waste
•Storage of waste
•Transport of waste
•Manifests and records
A Biomedical Waste Generator Permit is issued after:
1.Permit application is submitted to department.
2.Payment of fee (fee schedule).
3.Successful completion of “opening” and subsequent health inspections.
4.Proof of required training through the Department of Health.
Note: All persons employed who handle biomedical waste are required to have initial and refresher training through the Department of Health.
Read the Home Sharps Disposal Guidelines for information on how to properly dispose of home-generated biomedical waste.